Skip To Main Content

English Learners - WIDA English Language Development (ELD) Standards Framework

WIDA English Language Development (ELD) Standards Framework

Title I [1111(b)(1)] and Title III [3111(b)(2)(C)(ii) of the ESEA and Indiana’s ESEA flexibility extension require Indiana to adopt college and career ready English language development standards and assessments so that English learners may attain English proficiency, develop high levels of academic attainment in English, and meet the same challenging Indiana academic content and achievement standards as all children are expected to meet.

Indiana adopted the WIDA ELD standards in December 2013. The WIDA standards and framework consist of five components:

1) Can Do Philosophy

2) Guiding Principles of Language Development

3) Age Appropriate Academic Language in Sociocultural Contexts

4) Performance Definitions

5) Strands of Model Performance Indicators

The WIDA ELD standards emphasize that students need to engage with peers, educators, and the curriculum in ALL classrooms. WIDA offers five standards, which are utilized by all educators with English learners in their classrooms:

1) Social and instructional language

2) Language of language arts

3) Language of mathematics

4) Language of science                                        

5) Language of social studies


More information regarding the WIDA ELD Standards Framework can be found at and